Greater Peoria Chess Foundation


The Greater Peoria Chess Foundation is a 501(c)3 non profit organization dedicated to encouraging chess in our community and school systems. Chess helps students to develop many life skills that will help them as they navigate with challenges that lay ahead.

Kingsmen are now meeting Monday Night at Hardees

The Kingsmen Chess Club will resume our Monday night meetings June 12th at the Hardees in the Willows Knolls shopping center at 7pm as usual. This is a temporary site, we are working to find another permanent site since the Pizza Works has decided to close on Mondays. Many other restaurants in the Peoria area have been closing on Mondays for some time. Hardees is not a good long term solution as it closes early. Kingsmen met at Hardees previously a few years ago, but moved when we found the Life Togerther Center. Please continue to watch this space for further updates.

Bradley Summer Open Archive

All Years

Year Attendance Chief TD Winners
2022 31 Patrick Cohen Owen Zhang, Pragyan Misra
2021 Canceled due to Covid-19 Pandemic
2020 Canceled due to Covid-19 Pandemic
2019 42 Patrick Cohen Tim McEntee, Troy Curfman, Owen Zhang
2018 47 Patrick Cohen Alex Beecher
2017 46 Patrick Cohen Hersh Singh
2016 35 Patrick Cohen Daniel Garrett
2015 40 Patrick Cohen Nick Petersen
2014 33 Patrick Cohen Jason Daniels, Scott Schmidt
2013 37 Patrick Cohen Pete Karagianis, Tam Nguyen
2012 32 Wayne Zimmerle Nikhil Kunche
2011 30 Wayne Zimmerle Nikhil Kunche
2010 34 Wayne Zimmerle Nikhil Kunche
2009 30 Wayne Zimmerle Bill Naff, David Long, Mike Leali
2008 16 Fred Malcom Wayne Zimmerle, George Raun
2007 14 Fred Malcom David Long
2006 15 Wayne Zimmerle Mike Leali, Trevor Magness
2005 18 Wayne Zimmerle Mike Leali, Jason Chien
2004 28 Wayne Zimmerle David Long
2003 29 Fred Malcom Alek Stamnov
2002 28 Fred Malcom Pete Karagianis
2001 40 Wayne Zimmerle Ramesh Ali, Josh Flores
2000 22 Wayne Zimmerle Kyle Miles
1999 24 Murrel Rhodes Stanimir Ilic
1998 20 Wayne Zimmerle Dennis Bougerie, Arnor Bieltvedt
1997 15 Murrel Rhodes Phil Anderson
1996 22 Bill Naff Doug VanBuskirk, Bill Naff
1995 30 Bill Wilkinson Doug VanBuskirk
1994 26 Bill Wilkinson David Mote
1993 38 Bill Wilkinson Tommy Craggs
1992 26 Bill Wilkinson Bill Colias
1990 22 Bill Wilkinson Robert Reynolds, Steve Jesseph
1990 Cross Table curtesy of Robert Reynolds

The Bradley Summer Open is thelongest running university sponsored tournament in the nation. It was also the first tournament run by the GPCF in 1964. It has been held every year since. 2020 will be it's 57th consecutive year and it has long been a USCF Heritage event.

David Taylor, a Decatur expert then and now an over-the-board and correspondance master and 7th US Correspondance Champion, was our first winner. finishing ahead of a small contingent that included Peorian Johhn Roecker. That event was organized and directed by Murrel Rhodes.

Over the years the attendance has varied, never reaching 100. Attendance had slowed in the 1990s and early 2000s, missing drawing even 20 players from 2005 until 2008. Bradley's support never waivered the BSO has averaged over 40 players per year for the past 5 years.

The BSO is a 4 round one day Swiss System tournament. The original format was a single open section, open to all players. Today the format has changed a little with a Reserve section open to players 1400 and below. The dates have varied little over the years, but usually it has been held in the fall when the students return from summer break.

For information about this year's BSO or last year's results, please check out the web site at BradleySummerOpen.Com.

Published USCF records only go back to 1992, so previous champions are not well documented. We did receive a copy of the 1990 results from winner Robert Reynolds. Peoria Champions from previous eras include Tom Mabee, John Lutes, Murrel Rhodes and Bill Naff. We are trying to locate other records from before 1992.