Greater Peoria Chess Foundation


The Greater Peoria Chess Foundation is a 501(c)3 non profit organization dedicated to encouraging chess in our community and school systems. Chess helps students to develop many life skills that will help them as they navigate with challenges that lay ahead.

Kingsmen are now meeting Monday Night at Hardees

The Kingsmen Chess Club will resume our Monday night meetings June 12th at the Hardees in the Willows Knolls shopping center at 7pm as usual. This is a temporary site, we are working to find another permanent site since the Pizza Works has decided to close on Mondays. Many other restaurants in the Peoria area have been closing on Mondays for some time. Hardees is not a good long term solution as it closes early. Kingsmen met at Hardees previously a few years ago, but moved when we found the Life Togerther Center. Please continue to watch this space for further updates.

Bradley Winter Open Archive

The Bradley Winter Open began in 1994 as a part of the quarterly Peoria Tornados. By 2000 only the June & January tournaments survived and the last Summer Tornado was held in 2006. The tournament kept its Winter Tornado title until 2012 when the tournament was moved and sponsored by Bradley University. It remained at Bradley but was moved to the Mark Twain Hotel in 2020 when a scheduling problem with the Student Center developed during the transition of our BU laisions. This year we are back at Bradley this year as things return to normal.

All Years

Year Attendance Chief TD Winners
2022 31 Patrick Cohen Scott Nelson
2021 No tournament was held due to the COVID Pandemic
2020 32 Patrick Cohen Tim McEntee, Troy Curfman, Clayton Adamson
2019 32 Patrick Cohen Daniel Garrett, Jason Kolberg
2018 38 Patrick Cohen Pete Karagianis
2017 49 Patrick Cohen Pete Karagianis, Jason Daniels
2016 37 Patrick Cohen Angelo Young, Ryan Dungca
2015 41 Patrick Cohen Eden Diano
2014 35 Patrick Cohen Pete Karagianis
2013 32 Wayne Zimmerle Kyle Miles
2012 43 Wayne Zimmerle Nikhil Kunche
2011 57 Wayne Zimmerle Nikhil Kunche
2010 51 Fred Malcom David Long
2009 36 Fred Malcom Sohail Uppal
2008 24 Fred Malcom Brian Thomas, Mike Leali
2007 19 Fred Malcom Daniil Fedunov
2006 31 Fred Malcom Alek Stamnov, Pete Karagianis
2005 18 Fred Malcom David Long
2004 22 Fred Malcom Larry Cohen
2003 22 Fred Malcom David Long
2002 26 Fred Malcom Kevin French
2001 30 Fred Malcom Robert Reynolds
2000 22 Fred Malcom Bill Naff, David Long
1999 17 Bill Naff Bill Sandbothe, David Long
1998 24 Wayne Zimmerle Bill Naff, Paul Sholl
1997 15 Bill Naff Doug VanBuskirk, Bill Naff
1996 22 Wayne Zimmerle Mel Alsberry
1995 30 Bill Naff Doug VanBuskirk
1994 26 Bill Wilkinson Doug VanBuskirk, Bill Naff