Greater Peoria Chess Foundation


The Greater Peoria Chess Foundation is a 501(c)3 non profit organization dedicated to encouraging chess in our community and school systems. Chess helps students to develop many life skills that will help them as they navigate with challenges that lay ahead.

Kingsmen are now meeting Monday Night at Hardees

The Kingsmen Chess Club will resume our Monday night meetings June 12th at the Hardees in the Willows Knolls shopping center at 7pm as usual. This is a temporary site, we are working to find another permanent site since the Pizza Works has decided to close on Mondays. Many other restaurants in the Peoria area have been closing on Mondays for some time. Hardees is not a good long term solution as it closes early. Kingsmen met at Hardees previously a few years ago, but moved when we found the Life Togerther Center. Please continue to watch this space for further updates.

Peoria Championship Archive

All Years

Year Games Results Match Winner Runner(s) up
2022 Games Results Match Jacob Butcher Alex Fei
2021 Games Results Match Jacob Butcher Daniel Garrett
2020 No Championship was held due to the COVID Pandemic
2019 Games Results Match Daniel Garrett Alex Beecher
2018 Games Results Match Michael Leali Alex Beecher
2017 Games Results Match Daniel Garrett Peter McConaghie
2016 Games Results Match Andrew Fei Michael Leali
2015 Games Results Match Andrew Fei Peter McConaghie
2014 Games Results Match Michael Leali Ron Suarez
2013 Games Results Match Andrew Fei Michael Leali
2012 Games Results Match Andrew Fei Drew Streitmatter
2011 Games Results Match Michael Leali Peter McConaghie
2010 Games Results Match Peter McConaghie Andy Voss
2009* Games Results Match Michael Leali Bill Naff
2008** Games Results Bill Naff Michael Leali
2007 Games Results Match Peter McConaghie Michael Leali
2006 Games Results Peter McConaghie Henry Getz
2005*** Results Michael Leali Peter McConaghie
2004# Results Michael Leali Andy Voss
2003 Results Michael Leali Phil Anderson
2002 Results Wayne Zimmerle Michael Leali
2001 Results Jim Barthel Pete Karagianis, Michael Leali
2000 Results Michael Leali Pete Karagianis, Henry Getz
1999 Results Henry Getz Michael Leali
1998 Results Aleksey Makeyev Tom Smit
1997 Results Aleksey Makeyev Michael Leali, Ron Millard
1993## Results Bill Naff and Murrel Rhodes, co-champions

The Peoria City Championship was re-instituted in 1997 after a long number of years of not being held.

The format from 1997 to 2006 was a 6 man round robin invitational. The first qualifier was the previous years champion. The second qualifier was the previous year's Greater Peoria Open winner or highest placing local player. The third qualifier was the Membership Tournament winner. The winner of the annual December tournament qualified. The winner of the Class Championships also qualified. The sixth player was an at Large Invitee.

The format was changed in 2007 to include two two player sections with the winners meeting in a playoff match for the title. The first to accumulate 2 points with a lead in score is the match winner. If the score is tied at 2-2, additional 2 games are played at G30d5 and 2 games at G5d3, played in a single meeting.

To be qualified to participate, players must live in the area served by the GPCF or be regular members of the Monday night Kingsmen Chess Club.

* - In 2009 a 10 player round robin was played with the top 2 playing a match for the title

** - In 2008 two six man round robins were played but the final match between Bill Naff & Mike Leali was never rated.

*** - In 2005 Mike Leali & Pete McConaghie tied 4-1 in a 6 player round robin. Mike Leali's name appears on the traveling plaque as 2005 champion, so we infer he was indeed the winner, but we have no information about the final match or tie break used.

# - Decided by 1 game playoff after tournament tie.

## - 5 round Swiss, co-champions with 4-1 scores.

USCF records only go back to 1992, so previous champions are not well documented. Champions from previous eras include Art Hartwig, John Roecker, Tom Mabee, John Lutes, Murrel Rhodes and Bill Wilkinson.