Greater Peoria Chess Foundation


i

The Greater Peoria Chess Foundation is a 501(c)3 non profit organization dedicated to encouraging chess in our community and school systems. Chess helps students to develop many life skills that will help them as they navigate with challenges that lay ahead.




Greater Peoria Chess Foundation Fundraiser

Please join us for our 2024/25 scholastic chess season fundraiser at Olympia Bar and Grill off Pioneer Parkway in Peoria, IL on Aug 10th!

Please use the eventbrite link below for donations towards food tickets (BBQ style buffet with vegetarian option, kids eat FREE!). Any donations are welcome in lieu of food tickets if you cannot attend.

Get your tickets here. 100% of the proceeds will be used towards charitable purposes.

The Greater Peoria Chess Foundation will be awarding chess scholarships to send our students to the Illinois State Chess Championships in Bloomington, IL and to Chess Scholastic SuperNationals in Orlando, FL. The scholarships are primarily needs based awards but will also include a limited amount of performance based scholarships.
See you there!


GPCF Board of Directors

President - Murrel Rhodes
  • president@peoriachess.com

Vice President - Pete McConaghie
  • vicepresident@peoriachess.com

Secretary - Emily Dawson
  • secretary@peoriachess.com

Treasurer - Patrick Cohen
  • treasurer@peoriachess.com

Director - Michael Daley
  • mdaleypeoriachess.com

Director - Dong Fei
  • dfei@peoriachess.com

Director - Michael Leali
  • mleali@peoriachess.com

Director - Freddie Malcome
  • fmalcome@peoriachess.com

Director - Lawrence Van Ryn
  • lvanryne@peoriachess.com

Emeritus - Andrew Voss
  • avoss@peoriachess.com

Emeritus - Wayne Zimmerle
  • wzimmerle@peoriachess.com

  • Affiliations
    • The GPCF maintains affiliations with the US Chess Federation (A5010322) and the Illinois Chess Association.